Last weekend... night opening on Saturday!
This exceptional opening to the public, and the exhibition presented in its nave, will allow visitors to discover or rediscover the Sainte-Croix church, its history, its decorations and the details of the work to be carried out over the next few years, placed in the context of the major conservation-restoration projects carried out on the monuments of Provins over the last 40 years.
In 2022, within the framework of the heritage agreement signed with the State, the town of Provins has decided to begin the major restoration work on the church, with the help of the Region and the Department.
This event is also organised as part of the 20th anniversary of the medieval city being listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site!
The Church of the Holy Cross has been closed to the public since the mid-1980s. It has considerable structural disorders due to the heterogeneity of its architecture and a subsoil made up of about twenty metres of unstable peat.
A charter from 1154 attests that the Chapelle des Ponts was part of the property of the monastery of Saint-Ayoul. Built between two streams: the Vicomté and the Auges, on a floodable site, this Chapel of the Bridges took the name of Sainte-Croix from the 12th century, in connection with a relic sent from the East by one of the Counts of Champagne.
Free entry. Free until 30 September.
Paying from 1 October to 13 November, included in the Museum admission ticket:
adult 4 € - child (4 to 12 years) and other reduced rates: 2 €.
Free for children under 4 years old.
From Saturday 1st to Sunday 2 October 2022
Opening hours on Saturday between 10 am and 10 pm. On Sunday between 10 am and 7 pm.